music and books

My new favorite song..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptepeQ_8y-A

It’s from The Hunger Games soundtrack.  Loved the book, but I was not to much in love with the movie.  Anyway, you can listen if you want.  I actually really enjoy almost all of the soundtrack.

So I keep hearing about this book, or a series called 50 Shades of Grey.  I had heard that it was about BDSM and a bit hit among the mainstream.  I saw this woman on tv who said “it’s about all those things that you wish you could do, but can’t”.  I thought that was kind of funny.

Have any of you read it?  Is it worth reading?

5 thoughts on “music and books

  1. sin says:

    I’ve read it, and yes it is and no it isn’t…

  2. Magnus says:

    I want to be clear I’ve only read snippets and reviews, but to answer your question I don’t think most of us who have any kind of real life relationship will be as enthralled with it. As the saying goes, we actually do the things others are scared to even dream about. Our first hand knowledge of the reality seems likely to me to leave a book like this feeling flat and fake.

    I was just commenting on this topic on another blog. I think the furor of this book has to do with the fact that it presents the topic in a way that typical women can discuss the topic of BDSM relationships without being looked at askance. And I will tell you that I feel “Normal” people crave a power exchange relationship of some type, while “Typical” people crave it but repress the desires.

    It’s just my opinion, take it for what it’s worth to you. 🙂

  3. mouse says:

    Ally,

    Totally agree with Sin on this one…it’s really not worth the effort. To be honest there’s not a lot of bdsm in the book (yes it’s full of sex but not really bdsm or even what some might call kinky sex).

    It’s the idea that is perpetuated by the books that mouse has taken issue with. Yanno, anyone participating in the lifestyle is out of whack with normal people. Honestly, mouse thinks that’s part of the appeal of the books on a subconscious level people like the fact the Dom is “fixed” at the end (Or so mouse was told…because she stopped reading midway through the second book)

    Hugs,
    mouse

  4. Ally says:

    Thanks for the infor everybody… I won’t bother with it then.

Leave a Reply

