Opportunity or Burden?

Work is an opportunity, not a burden.

This was a point made on a very vanilla blog that I read.  He was actually talking about work, as in your job, and being thankful that you have an income.  It also applies to relationships,  and let’s face it, we all know relationships that are worth having will require some work from time to time.  Sometimes day to day.

When I think about my marriage, and the work involved,  the work that I can see that needs doing, it can seem overwhelming.  Do I really want to climb up this mountain?  Risk falling off the cliff?  Risk emotional injury, pain, and risk causing it for someone else?  Ummmm…. yes, I do.  Because he is worth it, we are worth it.  Because the days that feel like he doesn’t care are out numbered by the days that prove he does.  Because I am not as weak as I think I am.  Because I can survive hurt feelings and so can he.  Because if we work together, the risk is not so great, but the rewards will be.  It’s an opportunity for us to be better than we were before, not the burden of trudging through.

That was a little pep talk that I just gave myself   🙂

12 thoughts on “Opportunity or Burden?

  1. mouse says:

    YUP…YUP…YUP.

    Big hugs and happy holidays,
    mouse

  2. abby says:

    Great pep talk…one we caould use at times!
    hugs linda

  3. Sara says:

    I like your thinking Ally. No gain without pain, right? Sara

  4. husbandmick says:

    There ain’t nothing easy. You might as well pick something good! Way to go.

  5. So true! Anything worth having is worth working hard for!
    I like that “opportunity, not burden”.
    Work hard, play hard! 🙂

  6. sarah thorne says:

    And a very good pep talk it is!

    So true!

    sarah

  7. Ally says:

    Thanks Sarah 🙂

Leave a Reply

