So thankful

There are a lot of things that can get on my nerves in my daily life.  Things that I sometimes struggle with or don’t handle so well.

Things like –

Why can I get out of the car in 6 seconds and it takes my daughter 6 minutes?

Why does she feel the need to take off her coat and shoes every time we get in the car?

Why does she wait until we are the furthest away from a bathroom in a store to tell me that she is about to pee in her pants NOW?

Why does my son have to challenge every little thing that I ask him to do?

Why does “go get dressed for school” sound like “go play with toys, or keep watching cartoons, or whatever else you feel like doing” to him?

Why does he repeatedly come up behind me and scare me when he knows he will get a very negative reaction?  

However – I am going to focus on the good stuff instead.  I am so thankful that –

I have two great kids who are healthy and happy (most of the time).

My black mood has been receding and I have lightened up considerably at home.  This, by the way, helps a lot with my relationship with Brad.

Brad and I are doing pretty well.

I can honestly say that I am pretty happy right now.

I have great friends, in real life and online.

I am almost completely ready for Christmas.  Almost.  Shopping is fun. Christmas is a great excuse to do a lot of it, but I will be happy to be done.

Someone in my family is going to have a baby soon.  I can’t wait to meet him.

I made something amazing for my Grandpa this year, I know he is going to love it.

Dried mangos. I get dried mangos from our local Trader Joe’s.  They have nothing added to them at all.   I have a serious addiction… they are so yummy.  I am very thankful that they exist.

I could go on but I won’t bore you.  I hope you are having an enjoyable holiday season as well.

4 thoughts on “So thankful

  1. Sara says:

    Nice post Ally, and nice to hear from you! 🙂

    Sara

  2. Ally says:

    Thanks Sara. I know I’ve been very quiet lately. Mostly it’s because I have been so so so busy with the kids and getting ready for the holidays. I hope to be posting more soon. 🙂

  3. Oh the first part made me laugh Ally! I remember those days. They are now replaced with teens who get out of bed 5 minutes b4 the bus comes, last minute requests for clean laundry (he couldn’t tell me yesterday that he was down to his last pr of jeans?) and last minute requests for $, which I hadn’t counted on and I was short for him. (sighs) Plus messy rooms, constant meals (not snacks, meals!) and the belligerence! Ugh! Just something for you to look forward to, lol!
    I love that you are feeling so good, and I’m so happy you and Brad are doing great! I really think my own mood effects H and I= us, far more than I used to think. I think I thought it was the other way around. :- / (I think I thought? Who says that?)
    Your plans are wonderful, especially the homemade gift for Grandpa! I love when I can make something that will really warm someone’s heart. And I am putting those Trader Joes dried mangos on my stocking list for H. They sound yummy!
    Such a funny and happy post. I needed this!
    Good luck with the rest of your shopping! And do have fun!

  4. Ally says:

    Elysia, Ohh, so looking forward to the teen years 🙂
    You will love the mangos, I have to ration them because I can eat about 1000 calories of them way to quickly. Other Trader Joe’s favorites are the plantain chips and chocolate sunflower seeds. I hope Santa brings you some mangos though!

Leave a Reply

