The Great Online Cookie Exchange Extravaganza 2011

Look, the snow is back (if you are on my actual blog)!  I love the snow feature.  Anyway, this isn’t my own personal recipe or anything that I came up with but these are really big where I live.  They are usually only made around Christmas time.  If you like the chocolate and peanut butter combination, you will love these.  They are super yummy!

Buckeyes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups peanut butter
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
 

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the peanut butter, butter, vanilla and confectioners’ sugar. The dough will look dry. Roll into 1 inch balls and place on a waxed paper-lined cookie sheet.
  2. Press a toothpick into the top of each ball (to be used later as the handle for dipping) and chill in freezer until firm, about 30 minutes.
  3. Melt chocolate chips in a double boiler or in a bowl set over a pan of barely simmering water. Stir frequently until smooth.
  4. Dip frozen peanut butter balls in chocolate holding onto the toothpick. Leave a small portion of peanut butter showing at the top to make them look like Buckeyes. Put back on the cookie sheet and refrigerate until serving.

To get some more amazing recipes check out all the other participants!

Aisha
Alice
Ally
Another Suburban Mom
Ashly Star
Beau
Beth
Conina
Elysia
greengirl
Hedone
Jack & Jill
His wyld rose
Infidelity Chronicles
Jz
Kirsti
Krissy
lil
Linda Long
Little Monkey
Lola!
Mijena
mouse
Naughty Kitty
nilla
ponderouspet
ronnie
Rose
Ryan
Sara
selkie (her recipe here, her blog here)
Sephani Page
Serenity
shadesofblue
striving for peace
sin
Tempting Sweets
The Missus
undercovermetamorphosis
Viemoira

17 thoughts on “The Great Online Cookie Exchange Extravaganza 2011

  1. How cute these are Ally! If I add an upside down chocolate chip to make an iris, they would be fun at Halloween as well. My family loves peanut butter, so these will definitely go on my baking (or non-baking?) list!
    I love the snow, and I’ve been trying to add it, but my background is white, and I’m having difficulty changing it.
    Doesn’t it accumulate on your keyboard after a while? l
    They should send a tiny snow shovel when you add this feature. lol
    Happy Holidays! Hugs, Elysia

  2. mouse says:

    Super cute cookies! Can’t wait to try them.

    Hugs,
    mouse

  3. mouse says:

    OOoh and by the way Ally…

    LOVE THE SNOW…it can snow on blogs anytime!

  4. lil says:

    Oh yummy, thank you!

  5. Sara says:

    Nice Ally! And yes, it’s suddenly snowing on my blog too! Perfect timing! Sara

  6. Ronniesoul says:

    They look lovely Ally. Thanks. Is there anything you could use instead of peanut as I’m not a fan of it?

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

  7. Ashly Star says:

    The snow on the blog is really cute! I LOVE peanut butter and these are one of my favorite holiday treats to make. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  8. Serenity says:

    They look so good. I would have loved these years ago before my peanut butter terrors. The rest of you enjoy these for me!

  9. Jz says:

    IF “you like chocolate and peanut butter”…??
    That’s kind of like “IF you like sex” as far as I’m concerned!

    Whoa, dawgies, send me in, coach!
    Totally all over this recipe!

    Thanks for playing along, miz snow bunny.

  10. ponderouspet says:

    personally I’m not all woohoo about peanuts or peanutbutter, but my man loves peanutbutter, so a good recipe to know about if I want to do something special for him 🙂 And snow is cute

  11. aisha says:

    OMG ~ i work with this woman who makes these and brings them in from time to time ~ i can vouch for their incredibly amazing deliciousness!!!!

    aisha

  12. Striving for Peace says:

    damned peanut allergy

    but they look amazing!!!

    sfp

  13. greengirl says:

    Oh Ally – you know I love these – every year – at Christmas – yup.

  14. betheisley says:

    A friend of mine loves the peanut butter/chocolate combination, and I was running out of things to make for him. These sound great.

  15. viemoria says:

    These look really good and we all love pb and chocolate here!
    I must say I am kinda intimidated to make them look as nice but I sure will give it a try! 🙂
    ~viemoira

  16. littlemonkey says:

    Peanut butter and chocolate!!! drooolls.

    and they’re so cute too.

  17. Chocolate and peanut butter is my favorite combination! I happened to have all the ingredients on hand and they are in the freezer now, waiting to be dipped. Thirty minutes seems to be forever tonight!

    -Jill

Leave a Reply

