hopeful

Something that Greengirl said reminded me of this quote that I read a long time ago –

I do not believe that sheer suffering teaches. If suffering alone taught, all the world would be wise, since everyone suffers. To suffering must be added mourning, understanding, patience, love, openness and the willingness to remain vulnerable.
                                                       –   Joseph Addison   

If I’ve learned anything the past couple years it’s that you can’t just expect time to heal all wounds.  In the area of awareness, I’ve grown up a lot, though I am sure I will always have plenty of room to grow.  The hardest, most painful thing to do is to feel hurt and yet continue to be open and vulnerable.  I’ve only just begun to crack open the door on this skill.  I’m going to have to trust that all the work will pay off in the end.  I’m hopeful…

 

9 thoughts on “hopeful

  1. Hi Ally,

    “The hardest, most painful thing to do is to feel hurt and yet continue to be open and vulnerable.” — SO TRUE.

    I LOVE the quote. It’s so much easier to shut down and close in. It’s certainly one of my biggest struggles.

    • Ally says:

      Jane, I was so surprised to see you! So happy to see you are writing again.

      I’m willing to bet it’s a big struggle for a lot of people. I’m going to go check out your new blog now….
      Ally

  2. Ally, I love positive posts like this one. I am very sure that it will work out great, especially with such a positive spirit! Thanks for lifting me up with you by sharing!
    -E

  3. Sara says:

    Ally, I believe emotional work always pays off…always. I happen to think a positive out look is always helpful, too.

    • Ally says:

      Sara, I just worry about working on the wrong things, ya know? Or working on them in the wrong direction…..umm, it’s complicated but you probably know what I mean. However, I think that I am doing ok in the direction I am going right now, so that what matters.

  4. greengirl says:

    Ally,
    I’m so glad!

  5. Its totally counterintuitive Ally – I’ll back you on that!

    Doing the right thing is all you’ve got sometimes – and it’s worth everything. Keep up the hope. KayLynn

Leave a Reply

