#4 Every promise counts

I’m still here…and I haven’t giving up on finding my principles to live by.  Just a little break needed I guess.  But I have to say that with all the turmoil in my life lately, I have been able to think about these and they have kept me going.  So far they are 1. Be Ally  2. Make it count 3. Don’t stop   and so now we are at #4 Every promise counts  

“By making and keeping promises to ourselves and others, little by little, our honor becomes greater than our moods”  S. Covey

Have you ever told yourself –

I will not eat anymore junk food today!

Today I will go to the gym!

I will get (any room in your house) clean today!

I will be nicer to that person!

I will not yell at my kids today!

I will walk my dog every day!

…..You get the picture. 

And you know they all need exclamation points because when we tell ourselves these things we must do it with strong resolve.  Why?  Because they are the types of promises that are made and broken all the time.  Obviously none of these proclamations, if unfulfilled, will end the world.  Nevertheless, I’m convinced they are little building blocks of satisfaction.  I don’t know about you but when I resolve to accomplish something, when I tell myself that I will, and then don’t, it makes me feel bad about myself.  (Maybe I should resolve to fix my run on sentences.)  It may be something that only affects me, but it still feels bad.  It’s even worse when it affects someone I care about.  I hate that, and typically it’s not the type of feeling that makes me feel powerful to make the wise choice next time.  It wears on me and it weakens me.  Keeping a promise to myself, whether it’s to finish the laundry or to be more compassionate, is what makes me feel powerful to do it again, regardless of what I’d rather be doing. 

I rarely walk around telling my kids or anyone else frequently, ” I promise….”.  If you think you can get away with something just because you didn’t say “I promise”, well…that’s almost like saying “I had my fingers crossed”.  We’re not in 5th grade anymore.  What I mean by promise is really just something you tell yourself or someone else that you will do.  A resolution, a decision, a change.  I think the more we honor our own words and intentions, the more we can respect ourselves and more others will respect us.

9 thoughts on “#4 Every promise counts

  1. cedeno says:

    I agree. Promises are hard to keep sometimes, but if you make, you should keep them. It says something about who you are. Imperfection is going to be there, but a lot of it is intent. An intent to keep the promise will likely lead the action of keeping the promise.

    • Ally says:

      Cedeno, They can be hard to keep sometimes, especially when it’s just between you and you, and no one else knows. But that’s where I think it all starts. Thanks for your comment 🙂
      Ally

  2. Sara says:

    Ally, I’m glad you’re posting again. Important thoughts! Hang in there!

  3. greengirl says:

    Ally,
    You’ve got a lot of wisdom in those 4 ideas. I know it doesn’t make the work any easier, but I have a feeling the work would be worthless without your insight.

    • Ally says:

      GG, There is a quote out there –
      ” I do not believe that sheer suffering teaches. If suffering alone taught, all the world would be wise, since everyone suffers. To suffering must be added mourning, understanding, patience, love, openness and the willingness to remain vulnerable.”
      – Joseph Addison
      Still working on some of those things……
      Thanks,
      Ally

  4. Joss says:

    Ally,

    Enjoyed your post, it’s very applicable.

    Joss

  5. Malcolm says:

    I absolutely agree with you. Breaking promises, to oneself or others, is a bit like lying – it weakens you. Keeping promises and telling the truth strengthens you.

Leave a Reply

