The day that came undone

I can’t fully admit to being like the person in this link (that I have provided) but…(sigh).  http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/06/this-is-why-ill-never-be-adult  (Go ahead and read it, it’s hilarious,  just don’t forget to come back.  You will have to cut and paste it into your address bar and add .html   Sorry, I know that is a pain but I do this to avoid attracting unwanted attention to our community bc you all know how fun that is…)

Today I was going to do all the laundry, wash, dry, fold, and put away.  I was also going to empty all the waste baskets and take the cans to the corner.  I don’t have to do that but I like to get it done before Brad gets home so that he doesn’t because Mondays at work suck enough.  I wanted to mop the kitchen floor, vacuum the steps, and have dinner ready to go in the oven.  Ahhhh… points for good intentions?  I doubt it.

Instead I was online until 10: 30ish.  Then I got recruited by my 5 yr old for some easy bake oven projects.  Then my SIL called and asked could we join them for some lunch.  I told them I couldn’t, sadly I hadn’t even showered yet.  That’s ok, they said, we’ll wait…. So I managed to shower and get to the restaurant in record time.  All along I am thinking, I can still accomplish everything when I get home.  I was slightly distracted by Target.  On my way home I noticed the gas tank was dangerously low so I took a 15 minute detour for gas, then picked up my son from school.  Came home, put laundry in the dryer and a new load in the wash, folded one load of clothes.  Yay, I DID accomplish something!  Not really that proud though…. Since then I’ve read 20 or so blog posts and now I’m writing one.  Ok, I have 30 minutes til Brad gets home, see ya!

9 thoughts on “The day that came undone

  1. sin says:

    you have to work really really fast as soon as everyone leaves in the morning. Get lots done. And then you can mess around and squander the rest of the day.

  2. Mick says:

    Hi Ally,
    Sounds like Lynda’s day, although when she fritters the day away, she doesn’t usually enjoy herself as much with friends and such.

    • Ally says:

      Mick, I’ve had several people in my family tell me that when they were at home with their kids when the kids were little they didn’t really socialize much. I don’t know if it’s just my age group or what, but all my friends that are stay at home moms, we get together as often as possible, at least once a week. Personally I really need time with them or I would go crazy. Even though I did’t do much during the day, the 1/2 hour before Brad came home I folded 2 loads of laundry, cleaned the kitchen, got all the garbage out, and had dinner almost done by the time he came home. Kind of like sin’s idea, but backwards.

  3. lil says:

    Lol, it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who has those well-intentioned days that just slip away. I recommend unhealthy amounts of caffeine.

  4. N says:

    Oh man- I absolutely HATE that! I stay at home, too.
    If I wasn’t married to my boss, I probably would’ve been fired ten thousand times by now.

  5. Audra says:

    Ally,
    My day’s tend to come undone exactly like that too! But it could be worse! lol 🙂 At least you got some power cleaning done in the final 30 minutes, right?!

  6. Serenity says:

    I have a lot of days just like this. Target is distracting. My Husband sometimes gives me points for good intentions. Just not always.

    serenity

Leave a Reply

