don’t stop, don’t stop, don’t stop

My third personal mission statement point comes courtesy of CD.   A long time ago I commented on one of her posts  and she offered a bit of encouragement that started in the form of  “don’t stop, don’t stop, don’t stop…”  It’s really stuck with me and I smile every time I think of it.  While we were talking about the evolution of a spanking in a relationship I can’t tell you how many times her simple words have played over in my head for all sorts of situations.  I tend to get fired up about things whether it’s wanting to change habits, improve skills, or whatever.  Eventually I will either get distracted, get discouraged, get tired, or get depressed, and want to give up.  I’ve restarted the same projects and goals a few times just since I’ve started this blog.  When that has happened I’ve started again, picked up where I’ve left off, and yes, reminded myself “don’t stop, don’t stop, don’t stop”.  I’ve not regretted it yet. 

It also applies to the heart.  This past month, January, was hell.  My heart was broken more than once, I thought some very bad things might have to take place.  I wanted so badly to say “screw it” and just shut down emotionally.  I didn’t want to feel what I was feeling, but I told myself to remember that I wanted even the hard times, especially the hard times, to count for something.  I didn’t want to waste it.  You can’t shut down and move forward at the same time.  Instead of stopping in my tracks, quitting, I talked with friends and got support, found a new therapist and got support, and the load became lighter.  “Don’t stop”  means more to me than simply “don’t give up”.  It means “don’t stop (you have to keep trying, don’t stop (seriously, it will get better), don’t stop (you can’t quit because if you do you’ll never get where you want to go)”.  I love that it’s repeated three times, it makes a difference.  To me it carries a strong dose of hope, the promise of something better if I can just keep moving and not give up.

12 thoughts on “don’t stop, don’t stop, don’t stop

  1. That’s such wonderful advice! Thank you for sharing your strength with the rest of us. ❤

  2. Stormy says:

    Excellent post! I’m sorry you have been through so much lately, but it’s obvious you possess a deep strength and are very determined.

    • Ally says:

      Stormy, Thanks, and things seem to be getting better. I hope it keeps moving in that direction. I feel like I have found strength in sources outside of myself to get through, but in the process I hope I am getting stronger inside as well.

  3. Audra says:

    Those two words are so profound aren’t’ they? “Dont Stop” I’m really glad you didn’t give up and glad you found support!

    Hope you have a better February!

    • Ally says:

      Audra, Those words are remarkably simply and yet still profound. They carry a lot of weight if you let them. I hope Feb. is as good as I expect it to be!

  4. cultivateddiscipline says:

    We encourage each other,,, huggs my friend, CD

  5. Judy says:

    How very encouraging! I must remind myself this too at times. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. elle says:

    I’ll keep this mantra in mind in days and weeks to come.

    Bless you sweety.

    love and hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

