a new look and what I didn’t say out loud today…

Hold on to your hats people… I’m making a change.  Well, let’s call it a trial change.  You may notice that my blog looks different.  I actually don’t like it when other people change the way their blogs look, only because it throws me off a little and I don’t like change.  It’s uncomfortable and I usually fight against it.  But here is the thing, even I was starting to feel like my blog was boring looking.  I’m not going to go crazy and abandon neutral colors or anything like that, no way.  But I feel like the new look is a little more visually interesting… AND thanks to wordpress, it’s snowing on my posts.  How cool is that?  Anyway, if the new look grows on me I will keep it.  I think it will be easier for you all to read too.

So yesterday I followed a link from one of Poppy’s posts.   (Thanks Poppy :))  Long story short, today I had an email/newsletter type thing that talked about doing something new or different.  I guess I can cross that off the list for the day (see above paragraph).  It talked about how when we do anything new or different we open ourselves up to seeing things differently, new ideas, learning.  It made me think about how closed off I am in just my day to day life to anything new or different.  I like most things to stay JUST the way they are…. but why?  Sometimes change is threatening…  even changing myself.  I’ll explore that some other time.   So the other thing I read about was journaling, and it gave some journaling prompts, one of which was this – “What I didn’t say out loud today…”

What I didn’t say out loud today was “that stings a little”.  As I walked into Sunday school I was asked my favorite color.  I didn’t have to think long, I said navy blue.  Then the teacher tells me that we are going around the room, you say your favorite color and he will read out loud what this little personality test thingy says about what your favorite color says about you. 

This is what it says about blue – 

Blue is an emotional color. Blue stay inside themselves and do not trust people very much. They watch every move others make. Pale shades of blue show someone who wants everything in order. Their closet is immaculate. As blue moves to the deeper end of color, it becomes more moody and shows it.

People who prefer this color frequently use their emotions to make decisions. They are also easily affected by the moods of those around them. They sometimes expect you to feel down whenever they are. Showing signs of co-dependency, they need you to be by their side experiencing their feelings.

 

 I know, it’s just something off of the internet…. but so much of it sounds a lot like me.  It stings a little, but it’s not that big of a deal.  I am easily affected by the moods of others, but I do not expect or want others to be down just because I am, in fact I prefer that they not be…. geez.  I work hard on this blog to NOT stay inside myself and trusting doesn’t come easy.  I am moody at times, so what?

Now that I think about it, I ought to do this prompt (“what I didn’t say out loud today..”) everyday, because there are lots of things I should say out loud, but don’t….

11 thoughts on “a new look and what I didn’t say out loud today…

  1. Ally, this is so honest. Resisting new things, or changing the old, denies growth. To really see the world & who we are in it means closer, not casual, looks. It can hurt if your kids get glanced at & not seen for who they’ve become over time.As a talented photographer think of it as never changing your apature (sp?) because you can’t risk the what ifs. I am saying most of this for me, not you. Thanks for capturing this & sharing, I needed to see this.

  2. greengirl says:

    Ally – I love the snow – but then, I’m weird that way. To (badly) paraphrase a movie – life is change. I think often it is harder to fight against that than to face it. I love your idea to try new things like these.

  3. Michael says:

    Wow, Ally, what started out as a post on surface looks then dug deep down into your very essence. Remarkable. Excellent. Also, I like the snow and the new blog look.

  4. SugarAnne says:

    Ally,
    I usually don’t put a lot of stock in these things, but I found the site that you got the color alalysis from, looked up my favorite color… and it’s almost as though they knew me! It really is a little spooky, huh? Mine stung a little, too.

    I like the new blog look.

    SugarAnne

  5. Ally,

    I was just telling JJ the other day, that half of me likes constant change, but the other half wants things left alone, and never changed. I just never know which side of me is operation at the moment. I LOVE THE SNOW. Looks awesome.

    Thanks for sharing…… we all need to get out of our boxes, and it looks you are trying to do just that.

    Kady

  6. Mick says:

    Ally, I like the new look. Pretty cool. I don’t put any stock in color analysis, though.

  7. Ally says:

    Kaylynn, First of all I want to say – It’s so nice to see you back again! I’ve missed you and your thoughtful comments. Secondly, yes it is hard to change…and I have to admit that I actually shoot in aperature priority mode 90% of the time, but hey, I shoot a lot of portraits 🙂

    greengirl – I like the snow on the screen. In reality, I like the snow when it’s outside and I am inside. I think I agree with your movie quote, it is much harder to fight it. Not sure why I do things the hard way all the time.

    Michael- Thank you very much, and glad you like the new look. I think it’s already growing on me.

    Sugaranne – It is weird how acurate it was about me. Lots of people in my SS class said the same thing. Glad you like my new look 🙂

    Kady – Sometimes change CAN be refreshing rather than scary or annoying. I like the box analogy..I’m cutting out a little hole at the moment.

    Mick- I don’t blame you for not trusting the color analysis thing. In fact, my husband said his color was blue to and the only thing that fits him really well is having a neat closet.

  8. Hi Ally, everyone goes through those times when they read and don’t or can’t comment. Never fear. I’m not sure why the color “analysis” stings. It’s only a tiny little piece of you, even if it does ring true. I think it’s good to label little pieces of ourselves (sometimes) and put them together with the rest, just to have an objective, looking from the outside in sort of perspective. But we are ever changing and growing, and not stagnant either. Plus, we are all unique, and while your piece might be the same as someone else’s piece, when put together with your other pieces, still creates a beautiful and unique you.
    It’s OK that people need to earn your trust. Blogging isn’t easy. It isn’t easy to lay it all out there for others to see and know. I think we are all struggling with that at times. Its best to go at your own pace.
    I do love the new look of Ally Steps Forward, and the snow is just awesome! How’d you DO that?

  9. Ally says:

    Elysia – awwww.. that was all so nice of you to say, thank you. The snow effect – go to the menu on the side of your dashboard, click on appearance, click extras, and check the appropriate box, you will see that the option is only available until Jan 4, so I am assuming at that point it will just disappear.

  10. Thanks for the instructions Ally. I did just that, and then ALMOST clicked the X – ADD SNOW EFFECT button, when I realized that my blog is white and it wouldn’t show anyway! Duh! So, you’re blog can be the unique one with snow! I’ll think of something else, and visit HERE when I want to SEE it but not shovel it. LOL!
    PS WHAT are they thinking? After Jan 4th it’s no longer available? Now does that reflect reality? COME ON WordPress! Double Duh! 🙂

  11. Ally says:

    Elysia – I was thinking the same thing…

Leave a Reply

