my three year struggle and the final solution

Sorry I haven’t been around much lately.  I had a bad week last week but I’m feeling much better now, and can I just say brain chemistry is amazing.  I think if I could go back to school I’d concentrate on bio psy.  I know without a doubt, by being aware of what is going on with me, that my body left on its own doesn’t regulate dopamine well.  With help, I can be an upbeat, energetic, a more open and willing to participate in life, kind of person.  Just to warn you, I am going to go off on a tangent about medication and health, skip this one if you’re not interested.  There will be no spanking in this post, sorry.

For three plus years I’ve taken wellbutrin xl for depression.  Depression is such a general term but basically life was feeling like a weight I couldn’t carry.  Making my son’s lunch for school everyday… you may as well have been asking me to pick up the house and throw it.  It was a hard and stressful time.  So anyway, I saw a therapist, made some lifestyle changes to help deal with stress, and eventually started taking wellbutrin xl.  It has worked very well for me.  BUT, as my doctor says, “medication is just poison with helpful side effects”.  About 6 months after I started taking it I started to lose lots of hair.  I complained to multiple doctors, and said, “well, I can’t tell, you look fine to me”.  No, you can’t tell from just looking at me, but I am telling you, I lost at least half of my hair.  Probably more.  It was flat, lifeless, and clogging up my shower drain every morning.  It was very upsetting for me.  If you google wellbutrin and hair loss you will find hundreds and thousands of people who have had the same reaction.  Most of them don’t stick with it.  I did all kinds of things to combat this… I didn’t want to give up on the medication.  Bought vitamins, supplements, special shampoo.  Everything I could think of… I researched and researched online, looking for a solution.  I couldn’t find anything useful.  And then I researched some more just trying to figure out what in the medication was causing me body to react this way.  Then came the coumadin, which also can cause hair loss.  Yes, thank you drug companies. 

During this time Brad was also doing his own searching and I’ve talked about a fraction of the things he’s tried.  One of these things I picked up, out of curiosity to see what it could do for me, was the apple cider vinegar.  Also, Brad bought some test strips to see if his body pH was balanced, so I did too.  I’d never even thought (or been aware really) of body pH levels.  I had no knowledge of what it meant for me whether I was acidic or alkaline or where I was supposed to be (it’s good to be slightly alkaline).  So I did the test and much to my dismay it said my body was very very acidic.  As low as you can go, and I landed right  there where it’s marked “dangerous acidic pH range”.  After I did a little reading on it, it turn out if your body is too acidic 1. you have a hard time absorbing vitamins 2. your body is subject to lots and lots of health issues 3. you have weight gain or loss issues  4. sleeping problems 5. headaches 6. joint pain … I could go on and on, but you get the point.  Turns out that most medications are very acidic in your body, wellbutrin seems to have super powers in mine.  I started taking lots of apple cider vinegar (it’s great for balancing pH), 2 TBS 3x’s day.  I cut out a lot of sugar (sugar-acidic), cut back on the greek yogurt and granola that had become my staple (dairy and grains-acidic), cut back on meat temporarily (meat-acidic), started eating more fruit and once I was off the coumadin I could start eating more greens.  It took me about a week to get normal range pH levels.  I started taking mega doses of biotin, zinc, and silica, now that my body was actually going to absorb them.  It worked people, I’m telling you it’s such a relief to have finally found a solution to something that was bring me so much daily stress for such a long time.  (Also, stress-causes acidity in the body).  I never once saw anybody with my same problem say ANYTHING about blood pH or acidity.  I wanted to put this out here in case anyone else is dealing with similar issues, it’s truly distressing to feel like you need a medication that is also causing such a problem.  I can’t say that it will work for everyone, only that it worked for me.  (It’s important to mention that I also made sure that all my doctors were aware of everything I am taking to avoid any interaction problems, you should too.)

Look at this:

Healthy blood

Acidic blood

 

Ummm… hello, blood clot.  

And I was eating things that I considered fairly healthy.  Low fat dairy, whole grains, lean meat, and I did eat fruits and vegetables.  I just wasn’t able to eat enough to balance it all out.  To see these pictures or learn more, here is the address www.healthchanneltoday.com/nutri_01.html

And there is your health lesson for the day, your welcome 🙂

13 thoughts on “my three year struggle and the final solution

  1. I have a few of the same problems’ so I have been reading up on the information that you have found and immediately found ionized water; is that a gimmick? I think I am just going to do the apple cider vinegar thing right now and start changing my diet. Thanks for the information. Are you still on wellbutrin?

    • Ally says:

      SS, I am still on Wellbutrin, I need it. I was actually able to lower my dose for a few months in the summer with no problems at all, and then last week I started to spiral downhill for no apparent reason other than the season. I think Brad read something about the water but that’s it, I don’t know much about it. I do know that you can add lemon juice to water and that is good for you, so I do that also. Glad it was helpful to you. One thing though, apple cider vinegar is gross and it burns. I put mine in orange juice and use a staw to drink it.

  2. Hey wow, thanks so much for posting this! I am on different medications and much of what you describe really hits home (def with the hair loss! I’m always thanking my lucky stars I was blessed with incredibly thick hair!) I am going to start looking into this right away!

  3. Ally says:

    LB, yay! I am so glad you found it useful 🙂 I’d love to know how things turn out for you.

  4. barely.pink says:

    Ally, this is wonderful news!

    I have a growing list of virtues on my “Ode to Vinegar” and have just added another. Vinegar is an underappreciated substance.

    Your post made me wonder what my blood pH may be, as well. I have many of the symptoms that you were experiencing, but have fortunately been off of Wellbutrin for a couple of years now.

    Sometimes tangents are great. 🙂

    Hugs,

    Pink

    • Ally says:

      Pink, That’s great that you were able to get off of it, I hope that maybe summers I can at least continue to do the reduced dose. It takes a lot of committment to do the things I need to do to stay balanced. I do even more than what I mentioned, but it’s worth it to me to keep my hair looking good and stay undepressed. Thanks for your comment.

  5. Ally, lots of interesting information here. I have read through about 3 or 4 times. It is extremely interesting. I’ve had the vinegar for a while now, and I’ve used it in cooking , but I haven’t attempted to drink any. I’m glad you suggested the orange juice as there is no way in heck that I’m going to drink it straight up with a twist! Do you get those PH tests in any pharmacy or do I have to order them online or something. I’m curious about my own PH now. I take a lot of medication too. I’m going to pull a Scarlet and tell you that I’ll think about drinking the vinegar tomorrow, after all tomorrow IS another day!

    • Ally says:

      Hey Elysia, Do make sure you are taking the apple cider vinegar and not the white. Also (I think this is important), I only use organic unfiltered and unpasturized. Bragg is what we use.) We got our pH strips at a local health food store. You can order them online pretty cheaply, but I read reviews and it sounds like they are not all reliable. The owner of our store is reliable and carries the best stuff. I think the brand we use is VAXA but there are probably other good brands too. You may have to do some research on that. I don’t test all the time anymore. Once I get back to a normal level I only do it once every couple weeks unless I am concerned about it for some particular reason.

  6. Erin says:

    Ally,

    I don’t know how to thank you for writing this post!!! I’d read recently about the necessity of checking pH, but then got too busy and too tired and too sick to bother reading further. Well, now, after reading your post, I immediately began reading up on acidosis . . . I have every single symptom!!! I’ve been sooooo sickish for so long . . . tired, sluggish, can’t sleep, gaining weight, vision getting blurry, hair falling out when I wash it, worsening joint pain, bad breath, brain fog, BAD headaches . . . I’ve just thought I was getting old very fast–and I’m only 47!!!! I never, ever knew all those symptoms were on the same list somewhere!!!
    As soon as the stores open, I’m heading out.

    Thank you! Thank you!
    ~Erin

  7. Donna says:

    I’m so glad you wrote about this. I take welbutrin and have for at least a yr now and I noticed all the hair loss but never realized it could be from my meds. Thanks for posting this it takes one person to experience something and pass that information on and help another. Have been wanting to get off this med for awhile hoping our new DD lifestyle would help, now I have a great reason. thanks again.
    Donna

  8. Serenity says:

    Ally,

    I’ve tried ACV once to help with an agonizing bladder infection. Couldn’t get it down. I will have to try it with the orange juice. This was an interesting post and I will have to look into this. I struggle with depression and fatigue issues myself.

    Serenity

Leave a Reply

