zoning out

I have felt so spacey the past few weeks.  The other day I was driving and stopped at a four way stop, something in my brain was thinking I was at a light, and I’m not sure how long I sat there.  I had been thinking about something else, and then a car pulled up on the opposite side and caught my eye.  That was when I snapped out of it and realized what I was doing.  Then another evening I was in the grocery store just to grab a few things.  I saw an old friend and it took me longer than normal to process what should have been instant. (Ok, that is….Maggie, I’m at the grocery store, she lives close by here, wow she looks really thin) and she is talking to me and I’m struggling to respond, (what did she just ask me, oh yes, what, how did she know about that?  oh yeah, facebook, focus Ally focus!)   This is nearly the exact conversation I had inside my head, it was strange and I am hoping she didn’t see how spaced out I was feeling.  I also keep managing to drive from point A to point B without even really noticing.  Sometimes my kids will say something to me and I just stare at them, going blank.  This is all very funny as long as I don’t get into an accident or inadvertently say something stupid.  My blood test said that my blood was way too thin, I hope this is reason for all this craziness.  If not then I am losing my mind.

10 thoughts on “zoning out

  1. Oh boy, can I relate! I am feeling foggy right now. I can’t tell you how many typos I just made and had to go back and fix them. That’s been happening since yesterday. I need to be spanked so I can focus again, lol! I hope you “snap out of it” soon. What is the treatment for thin blood? Are you getting enough iron? A big juicy steak or some spinach maybe? If you’re losing your mind, then so am I. Meet you at the funny farm!

  2. lovedandled says:

    I feel like this a lot….doing things blankly and robotic like and not even being there mentally or realizing that I just did them…its such a creepy feeling! I hate “zoning”, its too weird.

    Sigh – I think we may all want to check ourselves in to the psych ward for a few days.

    Jenn

  3. Mick says:

    Lynda often feels this way. It sort of drives me to my own band of crazy when she does. Does spanking really help you with this? I don’t know that it would with her.

  4. Ally says:

    Elysia – I am taking blood thinners bc of the blood clot that I had, they just lower the dose that I take to get it to the correct number. I’m ready for the funny farm, great idea 🙂

    Jenn- yes, it’s very weird, I hope it goes away soon, how about a resort on the beach instead of the psych ward?

    Mick – Thankfully I don’t seem to be making Brad crazy, it doesn’t seem to effect him much, just me. I’m not sure if you were asking me or Elysia about the spanking (since she mentioned it in her comment) I don’t think for me that spanking would help, if I could control it I would, I am not normally like this. I experience the normal moments that most people have occasionally but not usually to this extent.

  5. Mick says:

    I must be a little zoned out myself. I think I was asking Elysia. In any case, I hope you feel better soon and I’m glad Brad doesn’t mind–he may be a little more easygoing than me.

  6. Serenity says:

    I have felt very spacey, like you described for quite a while. Recently discovered I had a vitamin D defecieny. After a few weeks of taking supplements and getting some extra sunshine my mind felt so much clearer.

    • me too!!

      i also get spacey when I’m pregnant.

      or had too much caffeine.

      or i have too much tension or a misalignment in my neck or shoulders that restricts the blood flow to my brain.

      or not enough sleep/rest.

      or not enough water.

  7. Ally,
    I am sorry this is happening to you. I get that way and it is scary and frustrating all at the same time. It’s crazy when you find yourself in a room in the house and wonder how you got there. For me it was my thyroid, but your blood being thin is a huge factor. Also, I found I get that way when I drink milk. Go figure.

    Hope your blood gets to its proper levels soon.

    Kady

  8. Ally says:

    Serenity – That’s interesting about the vit D. I’m wondering if blood thinners after how my body processes vitamins. In any case, I am feeling better now, thanks for your comment.

    Kady – That’s weird about the milk. I’ve had thyroid tests in the past and they have always come out normal. I think my blood must be back to a safe level now bc I am feeling much more normal now. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

