13 days and counting

Wow, I can’t believe it’s Saturday afternoon and completely quiet in my house!  I can hear myself think today… 🙂

Yesterday was a big day for Brad.  He’d been waiting to hear from some doctors about whether he is a good candidate for laser spine surgery.  After three weeks of sending them this and that test it turns out that Brad has a torn disc and it’s leaking fluid onto nerves.  Sounds delightful, huh?  For insurance purposes we are going to have to fly south (yay!)  for a week, and the kids are going to stay here with family (double yay!).  I would prefer that he didn’t have to have surgery at all, but since he is the circumstances could not be better.  We will get some much needed alone time and R&R for a week in FL.  We will leave in less than 2 weeks. 

 

10 thoughts on “13 days and counting

  1. Ally,
    Lucky you to have a quiet Saturday! Enjoy. I have had back surgery myself, and continuing disc problems that are in a relatively good place right now. I sympathize with his discomfort. I was immediately relieved of sciatica as well as lower back pain following my surgery and I couldn’t believe the pain that I had been living with. Once recovered, I also realized how much of the rest of my life it had been effecting. I wish Brad the same success and I hope that there is at least a little enjoyment in your trip to The Sunshine State.
    Elysia

  2. Ronniesoul says:

    What’s a quiet Saturday like Ally 🙂

    I hope all goes well Brad’s surgery. Please keep us updated when you can.

    Love to you both,
    Ronnie
    xx

  3. mouse says:

    Ally,

    I wish you both the best of luck and enjoy the time away from the kiddos.

    Hugs,
    mouse

  4. greengirliam says:

    Ally,
    I do hope thesurgery is successful. Living with chronic pain and limits on your movement can so much impact the rest of your life, and your family’s.

  5. Sir J says:

    I hope this latest treatment brings the relieve you both need. I will keep you in my prayers.

  6. Sara says:

    Ally this seems so promising! Brad’s pain must have been pretty severe…no wonder he has been struggling. I will be hoping for a happy ending to this saga for you both!

  7. amicablesettlement says:

    Hiya Ally 🙂
    Good luck with the procedure. I hope that it is successful and that your hubbie has minimal discomfort. Years ago my husband had spinal fusion for multiple herniations and ruptures, so I understand how debilitating a back injury can be. I am sure I speak for all your readers as I wish you much strength and support and a speedy recovery. 🙂
    Best wishes,
    Salvia

  8. SugarAnne says:

    Ally,
    I am floored by how many of us are suffering with back problems. Reports of it are popping up all over the neighborhood blogs, as well as my own diminished disc disease. Please know that I pray for the success of everything you have to go through to achieve his healthy, happy back.
    SugarAnne.

  9. Mick says:

    I’m a little slow in responding, but I’m so glad to hear that you have a bead on the problem and that Brad will be getting it addressed soon.

  10. Ally says:

    THANK YOU to everybody for your kind words and support, I will certainly keep you updated.
    Ally

Leave a Reply

