So it’s not so bad, it could be worse…way worse…

Following on the heels of Sara’s post discussing perspective, I’ve had my own perspective inducer today.  My RL best friend today told me that her husband is moving out this afternoon at her request.  It’s an extremely difficult situation and Brad and I care about them both deeply and my heart is breaking for her.  Several of you have talked lately about friends going through difficult and painful divorces.  It is hard to sit on the side lines and watch the lives of people you care about unravel.  I wish that I could do something, but there is nothing to do but offer my time, my support, and my love.  I would do almost anything for her. 

So today I feel thankful that I have never had to wonder if my marriage would be there tomorrow.  I have full confidence that it will be.  Things can be and have been very hard, but it’s not been what my friend is going through.  I really hope that they can work things out in time, but I’m not as hopeful for them this time around.  Yep, this time around.

5 thoughts on “So it’s not so bad, it could be worse…way worse…

  1. Sara says:

    Ally, I have watched friends go through very bad times too and it is so hard to see. Yes, it does make you (me) appreciate and want to hold onto what you have even more.

  2. mouse says:

    Yep…I know exactly what you mean. There was a time in our not too distant past that I wondered briefly about O and I. Would we be able to weather the storm surrounding us.

    We did. And like you, I’m grateful and far more appreciative that is something I don’t have to worry about.

    Hugs,
    mouse

  3. KayLynn says:

    Keeping your marriage together can be a quest. A wise approach I’ve heard referenced, is that being/staying married is a decision. I would agree – perhaps D would think this more than me! Seriously though, Ally, I am sorry that you have to watch friends walk through what could potentially be a wreck… prayers are very important. And sometimes it brings you around to reassess and/or find gratitude in your own situation.

  4. Ally,
    My husband and I too have long time friends who went through a divorce. At one time there were 3 divorced couples who lived on various sides of our property. We truly felt like we were *next* at several points. I’m so glad that we found dd, I do believe that it saved us from that fate, as we have discovered ways to work it out and we communicate much better. It is soo tempting to offer to friends the information about this way of dealing with marital issues, but I’m just not that brave!
    Hugs,
    Elysia

  5. Ally says:

    thanks for your comments Sara, Mouse, Kaylynn, and Elysia

Leave a Reply

