You did what???

I sure wish I had something intelligent to say, this is my 100th post (yay!) I’d love to blow your minds with something but I don’t think it’s going to happen.  I’m glad that I have stuck with blogging so far, I still enjoy it.  It’s been a little sparse lately, but I know I am not the only one who has not been blogging as often… maybe it’s the nice spring weather.  I have been outside as much as possible, soaking up the sun and fresh air.  Oh, and playing referee for my two kids, making sure my son doesn’t try to run over his little sister on his bike (yes, it’s been semi-attempted). 

That reminds me (I have no idea why), I have to tell you a hilarious/not funny at all story.  Last week Brad woke me up in the morning and says, I need to tell you something.  I really like to have a cup of coffee in me before I hear whatever horrible thing is coming after “I need to tell you something”.  But I didn’t have that luxury.  I got up and followed him to the kitchen and waited for him to talk.  He starts with “I was cleaning out my email folders last night and I was going over some from the sent folder”.  Ok, so?  “A message that I meant to send to you accidently was sent to our pastor.”  I seriously thought he was just trying to scare me.  “You’re joking, right?  What did it say?” I asked.  “No, it was sexual”.  Gulp.  He showed it to me.  It was short, sweet, and to the point… and graphic.  It was VERY sexual, like…. not very vanilla sexual.  Had I actually gotten that email, it would have made me blush.  I didn’t know if I wanted to fall down laughing or die right there on the kitchen floor.  Then Brad told me that it was actually sent earlier last Feb.  Well, that’s better…I think…is it?  I started to think about all the times I had made eye  contact and spoken with our pastor, and his wife, who is a casual friend.  I said to Brad that maybe the pastor did not tell his wife.  Brad said, “no, that’s not the kind of thing you keep to yourself”.  Now I am imagining him telling her and they are either laughing their heads off or recoiling in horror.  Well, the past few months no one had acted weird with me, and of course, I had been completely oblivious then.  So I said, “well, just pretend it didn’t happen then, it didn’t matter before we found out, so let’s just ignore it.”  He pretty much agreed, and we went on with our day.  You’d think that would be the end of it, right?  That’s enough for one day, but no, it’s not the end.

That night, and I had a feeling that this would be coming, Brad said that he felt that maybe he should say something to him about the email.  He can’t help himself, it’s just the way he is.  He can’t stand an elephant in the room. I told him I would prefer that he didn’t bring it out into the open, but we didn’t talk about it much.  The next morning Brad was in a meeting and had a chance to talk with our pastor alone.  I don’t know exactly how Brad brought it up, but it was something like “I think I accidently sent you an email meant for Ally a while ago and I just realized it”.  The pastor just smiled and said “It happens”.  That was it.  That is probably the best response that he could’ve gotten.  BUT, now he knows that we know that he knows!  Some how that is way worse for me.  And that is why I will be avoiding them for as long as I can help it.

11 thoughts on “You did what???

  1. KayLynn says:

    So here is the best one I can offer… maybe Brad’s email went to BabyMan (and you don’t even know it) and it’s all cool just sayin… wait here’s another one… as a pastor he is probably happy that he has a few in the flock who like flocking around… oh wait… Brad will have to forgive and be very understanding of the next exceedingly large mistake you make. I am impressed that he faced things. That is a stand up guy… I’m trying not to pun here!! I’m having way too much fun here… Sorry Brad!! KayLynn (who admittedly is eight daze without a spanking and has some more humble lessons waiting!)

  2. greengirl says:

    Oh Ally – too, too funny! Congrats on the 100th post, btw. I think I would want to curl up into a ball in church the next time, although – with our pastor – maybe, maybe it wouldn’t be such a big deal. It’s all about love – and of course he has to see that.

  3. Ronnie says:

    Very funny Ally, I definitely wouldn’t have been able to say anything but I’m sure your pastor receives and hears all sort of things.

    Congratulations on your 100th post.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

  4. mouse says:

    ally,

    congrats on the 100th post! That is too funny and I think the pastor handled it very well.

    O has to be careful because he has me on his phone as “mouse” and his mom, is well “mom”

    So ya we’ve had experience with that.

    Hugs,
    mouse

  5. Sarah says:

    I’m so sorry that you have to deal with that embarrassment, but Ally, that is so so hilarious! It sounds like your pastor is a great guy and the way in which he handled it was very nice. Of course I would have a hard time going back to that church and facing him and his wife if I were in your shoes. Oh, I’m so sorry, but I just can’t stop laughing! That is a story that will never be forgotten!

  6. Ally,
    Sorry that I’m late to your centennial celebration. Congrats on that! I have, so many times, thought about the *what if* all the beans were spilled and someone, or many people knew about This Thing We Do. Well, you just have to get past the embarrassment, that’s all. Perhaps your pastor is quite proud of you for choosing this lifestyle. You have to assume that he knows that it exists, whether or not he has much info on the subject. Believe that it is acceptable to him because it should be. He may very well practice it himself, or may go exploring the lifestyle seeing how in love and loving that you and Brad are because of it. After all he’s only human, perhaps he has marital problems himself, if he’s married. Show him that it is a good thing, by believing it and giving the outward appearance, that it is right for the two of you. Be the pioneers for all of us! Soon, we’ll all be coming out of the closet in droves. You two go first! Wait you just did, lol. Sorry, I’m sure that it’s so not funny every Sunday. I’m serious, try not to be embarrassed! I’m sure he’s heard everything about everything anyway!
    Hugs,
    Elysia

  7. renewedwife says:

    LOL! That is sooo funny. Although it wouldn’t be if it happened to me! 😉 Seriously, I feel for you. Hopefully as you and your husband simply keep on keepin’ on, the embarrassment will fade for all involved.

    But really, it is a funny story… I think it’s all CDD wives’ worst nightmare – our pastors or others finding out accidentally about our “non-vanilla” lifestyle. But who knows? Maybe he does it, too! 😉

  8. lovedandled says:

    Hilarious. But yes, I would want to die on the kitchen floor too! LOL…It’s okay though, we’ve all had something like this happen, and those of us who haven’t, soon will. It’s part of life. My hubby threatened me with a spanking (in all seriousness, too)in front of my mother and I wanted to sink into the floor boards and disappear, but the look of confusion/amusement on her face made me bust out laughing so I think I made her believe it was joke and nothing more. Well, I hope. Ha ha!

  9. Sara says:

    Ally, too funny! Congrats on still blogging!! 🙂

    Look, here’s the thing about pastors…shhh…but they are people too. Honestly they are. I think they even have sex sometimes, and maybe some of them are even spankers. Whatever they are into, any experienced pastor has seen waaay more than a sexual love note from a man to his wife!

    I agree that I am impressed with Brad’s integrity in telling you and attempting to make it Ok with the pastor. That took courage! Wouldn’t;t it be interesting if the pastor turns around and asks you and Brad to lead a couples group sometime? 😉

  10. BabyMan says:

    I don’t know of any pastors who are spankers (snicker).

    Congratulations on 100!

Leave a Reply

