family fun

One of the best things about having kids is hearing the funny things they say when they are young.  The other night my son and I were doing mad libs together (in case you aren’t familiar, it’s a short story with words missing, one person is asked to fill in the noun, adj, verb, adverb, etc without seeing what the story is – the idea is that you get a very funny story).  While my son and I were playing, my daughter wanted to participate too, so I would let her give answers to the easy ones.  One blank asked for a number, so I asked her for an answer.  Here’s how the conversation went…

me – can you tell me a number?

d – umm..one

me – hmm.. can you give me another number? another number would work better

d – two

me – can you tell me a really big number?

d – (long pause)  ok, a giant 4!

My son and I almost fell out of our chairs laughing, it was so funny.  Sometimes I forget she is only 4, she seems to act so much older because she picks up so much from her brother and her cousins.  Her literal interpretations are the best entertainment these days.

 

2 thoughts on “family fun

  1. Ally, I loved how you told the story. I had no idea how old she was, but I guessed she must be young. When you said after her last answer that she is four, I laughed, because of course four is the biggest number in the world to her! So cute, and we just love Mad Libs here too! Sometime when they’re bored and driving you crazy, ask them to write their own story and leave some parts blank, for you to do. Maybe you’ll get some extra blogging time in!
    Elysia

  2. Ally says:

    Elysia – even I still enjoy the mad libs, I bought my son a huge book of them, it’s worth it to see him laugh so much
    Ally

Leave a Reply

