Comfort Food

I had almost given up on my quest for a decent chicken pot pie recipe.  I wanted one that was hearty, moderately healthy, and of course delicious.  This summer a good friend made this for our family the day of Brad’s first surgery.  I loved it!  I love it so much that as I was making it this afternoon I decided to share it with all of you, just in case you’ve been searching for the perfect recipe too.

Chicken Pot Pie

2 frozen deep dish pie crusts (or make your own)

1 potato- cubed (or more if desired)

1 c frozen mixed vegetables

1 can cream of chicken soup

approx. 1 c ckn stock or broth

aprox. 1 lb chicken breasts

Preheat oven to 375F.   Put one pie crust in the bottom of a greased/sprayed pie plate.  Cook your chicken and cube it or shred it. 

In a large bowl add chicken, potato, vegetables, and cream of chicken soup.  Slowly add ckicken stock and stir frequently, keep adding until you get the consistancy you like. 

Place the other pie crust on top, cut slits, and if you want you can brush it with and egg wash.

Place on a baking sheet and cook for 1 1/2 hours or until done.

Let it sit for about 10 minutes before eating.

3 thoughts on “Comfort Food

  1. Sara says:

    Funny thing, I made chicken pot pie for the family yesterday. It is a fav around here. Mine is curried with veggies and raisins added. Spicey and sweet. I make my own roux instead of using the canned soup though. If you ever want a different recipe, let me know!

  2. Ronnie says:

    Sounds yummy. Think I would use fresh veggies.

    Sara’s recipe sounds lovely as well.

    Love.
    Ronnie
    xx

  3. Sarah says:

    I love chicken pot pie… mmm it sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

