love notes

I’ve been awake since 4:30 this morning, my mind is running a mile a minute.  I must have been writing about 4 different posts in my head all at once and I couldn’t go back to sleep.  It’s funny b/c a few weeks ago I was struggling to come up with anything.  Anyway, this one seems to be the most important to me.  It’s really a note to Brad, a very personal note.  Why not put it out there for the world to see?  Kidding… I have my reasons.  First, I don’t have a problem sharing how I feel about him. Secondly, it has everything to do with the feelings and circumstances brought on by the changes in our relationship. Thirdly, this is my creative outlet and if not for this blog there’s a good chance I wouldn’t have ever written this. So, that said, you can’t say I didn’t warn you.  If you do not want to read a super sappy love note, or rather a long series of statements, by all means, skip it.

 Other than the verse this is an unedited and unstructured stream of consciousness.  It maybe could have been done better, but I chose to leave it rough. 

 4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

 

When you are patient, it helps me grow.

When you are kind, it warms my heart.

When you are thoughtful, I am thankful for you.

When you are selfless, you inspire me.

When you are calm, it puts me at ease.

When you forgive, it frees me.

When you are understanding, I feel loved.

 

When you snuggle with me, I feel safe and secure.

When you hold my hand, I feel connected.

When you kiss me, I feel passion.

When you hug me, I feel warm inside.

When you reach out, I respond.

 

When you need me, I’m at your side.

When you hurt, I hurt too.

When you open up, I feel fulfilled.

When your angry, I feel anxious.

When your quiet, it makes me wonder.

When you test me, I feel confused.

When you push me away, I feel alone.

 

When I am anxious, I need you to tell me it will all be ok.

When I am afraid,  I need you to wrap your arms around me.

When I am unsure, I need you to reassure me.

When I fail, I need you to forgive me.

When I make you happy, I need you to tell me.

When I feel sad, I need you be there.

When I feel frisky, I need you to spank me.

               (Come on, you know I had to throw that in there.)

 

When you want me, I am all yours

When you ask, I’ll give you all I have

While I’m alive, I need you.

 

*hope I didn’t make anyone throw up just now 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “love notes

  1. Sara says:

    I think that after how many yrs of marriage (?) that you even feel inspired to write a love note is so wonderful! How many people find a deeper love and commitment after years together? We are so truly the lucky ones! Being wise enough to let Brad know how you feel is the cherry on top!

  2. JJ says:

    I just randomly clicked on your blog at Bonnie’s.
    How wonderfully inspiring, Ally. Thanks. JJ

  3. Brad says:

    Wow! What a great post! What a great wife!!! Thanks for sharing with others how you feel about me. You are made perfectly for me – I am so thankful for that. Love, Brad

  4. Ally says:

    Sara – we’ve been married 10 years and just getting started 🙂

    JJ – Thank you!

    Brad – that’s very sweet, love you too.

  5. You know what they say about what happens at 4 in the morning, right?

    http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/rives_on_4_a_m.html

    On a more serious note, it’s a lovely one. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Ally says:

    Jane,
    That was great, I’ve never heard of that guy before. Good thing I wasn’t up until 4:30am! 🙂

    Ally

Leave a Reply

