I love Jamie Fraser

If you recognise that name, you know just who I am talking about.  There are websites devoted to this particular (fictional) man, his wife, and the life they live (next book comes out this Sept.) and with good reason.  If you are attracted to dominant men, he’s your guy.  I am talking about the book series Outlander.  I got into it last year and haven’t been able to put them down.  There are six books available now.  I am a picky reader, I don’t like to waste my time with mediocre novels, so if you like to read I would highly recommend these.  I would classify the series as romance/historical romance/time travel.  Yeah, when my mom said “time travel”, I thought “what?  I’m not really interested sci fict type stuff”.  But don’t let it turn you away… It starts with Claire, she is married to Frank and they are starting their lives together after the war by vacationing in Scotland.  Franks is a history prof and is looking at some family tree stuff when they learn some about “the stone circle” in the area.  There is something of cultish practice still observed by the women in the area and the go check it out.  Claire decides to go back on her own to look and ends of falling between the stones and sucked back in time to the mid 17oo’s.  It’s kind of funny b/c of course she doesn’t realize what has happened.  The English are attacking some Scottish highlanders and she thinks a movie is being filmed around her, like she’s stumbled onto the set.  Without giving away too much, she is captured/saved by a group of slightly barbaric highlanders and taken back to their clan.  Through a series of circumstances a very complicated love story ensues between Claire and Jamie.  There is even a spanking scene between them which I am sure you will all appreciate.  Women, if you read these books, you will fall in love with Jamie too!  He’s the epitome of male dominance while being very loving and sweet too.   You will love Claire too, she is a very strong woman, loyal and good character.  She tries so hard to get back to the stones to return to her husband, Frank, but she is not able.  You’ll have to read the rest….

6 thoughts on “I love Jamie Fraser

  1. That’s so funny! I’m mid-Voyager currently. Very enjoyable books AND characters, I agree.

    I think one of her most brilliant moves (as an author) was in making Jamie younger than Claire. Because it’s so true– many dominant men (intrinsically good leaders and caretakers, etc.) are dominant from start to finish. Though age may hone their skills, there is a foundation already in place. I think D. Gabaldon crafted Jamie as a great example of this.

    I agree, great reads.

  2. Ally says:

    yeah! another fan… I’m almost done with “The Fiery Cross”. Yes, Jamie was brilliantly created, it actually bothered me some at first that he was so much younger than her, but his life experience even before meeting her, I think gave him a bump up, (and she was totally out of her element). I love the dynamic between them, it’s so sweet how chivalrous he his, in contrast to his surroundings and the type of man he had to be to survive. Well, I’ll stop, I could talk about it all day. 🙂
    Ally

  3. Erika W says:

    I’m new to the Outlander universe and it very quickly became my latest obsession. I’m just over halfway through Voyager right now…and am reading more quickly with each book. They just keep getting better and better.

    I love that darn Jamie. 😉

  4. Scarlett says:

    Ah! A blogger after my own heart! You are lucky you didn’t start the series when the first one came out because you haven’t had to wait for the next one to be published and then the next, etc! As far as the spanking scene in the book…I was about to put the book down for the night when I got to that part and then I thought, “he’s really going to do this!” Needless to say, I’ve read and re-read that particular scene too many times to count. Incidently, did you know it is cut out of the abridged edition of the book on CD? How sad! So be warned anybody who wants to listen instead of reading! A great choice of book to read. Enjoy them all!

    • Ally says:

      Erika,
      It’s hard to not let Outlander be an obsession…it’s definately one of mine!

      Scarlett,
      Yes, I too remember thinking, is he really going to go through with it? From the moment he told her if she moved from her hiding spot he was going to beat her, I was thinking, I bet she’s going somewhere with this. When Claire starts to try and get away, I knew she was going to get it. Oh yes, I have reread that part many times also. I am very glad I didn’t have to wait for the next books to be published…that would have been agony! In fact, I’ve been dragging my feet with The Fiery Cross, knowing that I only have one more book until the next comes out. I actually started rereading Outlander while in the middle of Fiery Cross. I don’t want to let go…

      Ally

Leave a Reply

